Slingerland® Institute for Literacy

WEBINAR: The Simple View of Reading

When: 3/3/2021
Where: Online
Registration: https://www.eventleaf.com/SILWEBRDGSN

The Simple View of Reading: Integrating Decoding and Language Comprehension, Utilizing the Slingerland® Approach

Presented by Shira Naftel, M.Ed., CSIT, this interactive webinar will explore the simple view of reading, utilizing the Slingerland® Approach. To enable reading comprehension (the purpose of reading), readers must be proficient in their ability to both ready (decode) words and comprehend language. If either of these essential components of the reading process are not fully developed, reading comprehension will not occur. Throughout this webinar, participants will take a deep dive into how the science of reading (SOR) informs our instructional practices in the areas of decoding and language comprehension, culminating in reading comprehension. Come and learn how to effectively choose decoding words, identify phrases, and utilize the phrase concept to build comprehension within a reading passage. Participants will be empowered as they identify and better understand how to build the foundational skills required for reading comprehension.

The webinar begins at 5:00 pm (PT) / 7:00 pm (CT) / 8:00 pm (ET).

Space is limited to the first 100 guests so reserve your slot today!

This 90-minute webinar will be held via zoom. The link to the event will be provided in the registration email.

Slingerland® Institute for Literacy
PO Box 1648, Bellevue, WA 98009 US
47.6273380-122.1702540
Phone: (425) 453-1190
Fax: (425) 635-7762